A Writer’s Running Log, Day 5

I don’t run. I do yoga. And yet…

Wouter-Kingma-for-Nike-Pegasus-1 2

Random Thoughts While Running – day 5 – 3.2 miles

  1. Led Zeppelin’s Ramble On got into my bones during this morning’s run.
  2. I like running alone. Tomorrow I have my first run with two girlfriends who are already amused by my desire to wear my headphones and be non-social while we’re together.  I think they think I’m playing…
  3. Despite the treasured alone time, I must admit to always being aware of my surroundings and the fact I am very much alone as I run. It’s a woman thing – we are always on guard, we have to be. I shared this with a friend today and asked him whether he ever worries about being alone on his runs, already knowing his answer: No. Never.
  4. I decreased the time of my mile to 10:53. Not sure I can do much better – that felt really fast. Despite the fact it is not fast at all.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

3 thoughts on “A Writer’s Running Log, Day 5

    • They are totally bullshit…and yet, they give me life. Maybe not life per se, but they motivate my competitive ass. The funny thing is, in this situation, I’m competing with myself. Go figure…

      • I get what you mean. I’m the same way. I guess I’m trying to find a balance–I want to be motivated by my “failure” but also inspired by my success–and if I never recognize my success I don’t build on that opportunity. Work in progress. Anyway, great post!

Leave a Reply

