#NationalPoetryMonth – Day 29

d1b4b4cd56ef5087cb9dc46b2778ab0f

DRESSING ROOM

today I walked into
my dressing room
looked around at all of the
sequins and tulle and
beautiful raw silks
touched vintage dresses
and handmade saris
ogled hangers draped with
favorite shirts and
skinny jeans
and then donned
the armour of
The Badass
and as I stood
before my mirror
ran my hands over my
hips and thighs
spun around in a circle
and smiled
I realized
this outfit right here
the one that is pretty and smart
chic and sophisticated
and screams
do not fuck with me
even if you know
my soft spots
this outfit
has always been
my favorite


April was National Poetry Month – one of my favorite times of year, despite the fact this year I failed in my goal to post a poem everyday. I wrote them, I just never quite caught up on the posting part. The lawyering is crazy and I’m selling my house and shit happens. Today’s goal, as was yesterday’s, as was the day before’s: FINISH.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

Leave a Reply

