Getting Proustian With…TASHA L. HARRISON – The Interview Series

unnamed

I feel like I’ve known dirty word guru Tasha L Harrison forever. I haven’t, but something about the way she and I groove is so comfortable – it’s like we’ve always been around each other, talking shit, oogling sexy men, and writing filth. And when she’s not writing it, she’s helping others do so with her company, The Dirty Editor.

And holy smokes, can that woman write some filth. It’s smart and delicious and wet-your-panties sexy.

Her series The Lust Diaries smacks you around with the feels, then leaves you all hot and bothered by the heat generated between Yves and Elijah. After reading the first two books in the series, I was literally begging her to give me book three.

Immediately.

Screen Shot 2015-08-24 at 1.36.01 AM

She’s so good at creating complex and very real characters, with juicy backstories and even juicier futures, that you cannot  help but get all caught up and wrapped around their very dirty sexy present-day lives.

These days, Tasha and I share a literary agency – Brower Literary & Management – and are plotting minor shenanigans when we hook up this May for the RT Booklovers Convention in Atlanta. If you’re going to be there, and you love some dirty words, come find us. We ARE dirty words.

If you can’t make it to Atlanta, check out The Lust Diaries – it’s brash, bold, and just plain fire.

And of course, enjoy Miss Tasha getting a little Proustian with me…


What is your idea of perfect happiness? This idea changes as I grow older (obviously), but right now my idea of happiness would be success at the thing I love. The love of someone who genuinely loves me for me. Happy and healthy kiddos and a life that makes me excited to greet every day.

What is your greatest fear? Never reaching my full potential. My kids being unhappy or unfulfilled.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself? Forever second guessing myself and always believing the worst things about me are true.

What is the trait you most deplore in others? When people can’t be accountable for their actions.

Which living person do you most admire? This changes from day to day. Today it’s Issa Rae. Yesterday it was Ava Duvernay.

What is your current state of mind? Focused. Driven.

What do you consider the most overrated virtue? Chastity.

What is the quality you most like in a man? Authenticity.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse? I probably say fuck too much, but I don’t give a fuck.

What or who is the greatest love of your life? My kids and my writing. As long as I have them and my writing, everything is all right.

When and where were you happiest? One summer day with both of my boys were little and playing in the waves. The sun on my face.

What do you consider your greatest achievement? Being brave enough to write that first story, that first book. Being brave enough to do the thing I was always meant to do.

Where would you most like to live? Some magical place where it’s 70 degrees every day and the sun always shines. Do you know this place?

What do you most value in your friends? Loyalty. Honesty.

Who are your favorite writers? Zadie Smith, Steven King, Langston Hughes, Charles Bukowski, Maya Angelou, Tiffany Reisz, the author of this blog…

Which historical figure do you most identify with? Nina Simone and maybe some Billie thrown in, too.

What is your motto? Everything is energy.


Often accused of navigating life without a filter, Tasha L. Harrison has branded herself as the author who writes stories that make you feel all the feels. Her African American and interracial erotica and erotic romance have brazen heroines and heroes that struggle to tolerate all of their back sassing while trying to get them in the sack.
IMG_3250
Find her at:
@tashalharrison on twitter
Her series THE LUST DIARIES is available now!
A Slant of Light (prequel short story)
In Her Closet, The Lust Diaries: Book One
The Shame in You–A Short Story
Everything She Never Wanted, The Lust Diaries: Book Two
Having it Both Ways, The Lust Diaries: Book Three
What Kind of Man, The Lust Diaries: A Short Story
Not So Soft, The Lust Diaries: Book 3.5
The Truth of Things (coming soon)
A Soft Place to Fall (coming soon)
Leave a Reply

