Getting Proustian With…ERIC LANGLEY – The Interview Series

I haven’t blogged in ages and the last time I did one of these interviews, it was warm outside and President Obama was still in office.

But I’m not here to discuss all the ways I miss POTUS 44. I’m here to chat about chance meetings and good people and art.

Beautiful art.

langley1

Because that’s pretty much how I crossed paths with Eric Langley – chance meeting last year, totally random and unexpected. Since then, I’ve learned he spends his week days doing good work with troubled kids, and his free time interpreting his surroundings, his tools a paintbrush and canvas, the result – art.

And he hates talking about it.

Promoting it.

Even admitting he’s really good at it. Instead he’ll try and veer the conversation into talking about the kids he works with or his budding t-shirt business, all the while side-stepping the fact he’s pretty damn talented.

Being the pain in the ass I am, I keep telling him to get out there more, take to social media and work it. I’m not sure he listens or cares – he’s an introvert, I get it – self-promoting sucks – but what I am sure about is that I managed to get him to sit down for an interview and share some of his innermost thoughts.

Yea me and my brown girl magic.

Here he is, mister artiste and all-around good guy, getting Proustian with it.


1. What is your idea of perfect happiness? Making a child who has a low self esteem feel like a king/queen.  A close second…consuming beer and pizza while listening to music at an above average decibel level.

2. What is your greatest fear? Good question, I guess I’d have to say dying at an early age. I was diagnosed with an aortic aneurysm about fifteen months ago and that has definitely opened my eyes to the fact that I am not invincible.

3. What is the trait you most deplore about yourself? I’m a champion procrastinator.

4. What is the trait you most deplore in others? Prejudice. I know its difficult at times, but get the facts before you start drawing conclusions about someone. The woman at the store who didn’t smile back at you isn’t a bitch…her son was shot and killed the day before and she’s finding it hard to smile about anything.

5. Which living person do you most admire? There are too many incredible people in this world to single one out.

6. What is your greatest extravagance? Extravagance…what’s that?

7. What is your current state of mind? Open.

8. Which living person do you most despise? Not sure and I’d rather not waste my time thinking about it.

9. What is the quality you most like in a man? Kindness

10. What is the quality you most like in a woman? Kindness

11. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? I’d give myself a new aorta.

12. What do you consider your greatest achievement? Not sure if it’s the greatest, but definitely my greatest ironic achievement would be receiving my masters degree in education since I never really liked school.

13. Where would you most like to live? I’d like to start out in Chicago and go from there.

14. What is your favorite occupation? My current one. I’m a homebound instructor, so I work with students who can’t go to school. The reasons vary, but are medical or behavioral in nature. I go to homes, hospitals, jails, libraries,… Every child has a right to be educated.

15. What is your most marked characteristic? You tell me.

16. Who are your heroes in real life? My heroes are the people who are kind, respectful and are willing to go out of their way to assist others in everyday situations…even when nobody is watching.

17. What is it that you most dislike? Hatred

18. How would you like to die? I wouldn’t.

19. What is your motto? Eric’s Golden Rule- Do unto others as  you would have them do unto your mother.


langley4 Eric Langley lives in St Louis with his dog and his art. He’s just opened an online store where he sells t-shirts, featuring his original work. You can place an order by clicking the link: Eric Langley Art

langley5

Leave a Reply

