#Poesia – UNNAMED LOVE STORY

boattome

UNNAMED LOVE STORY

between us lie
miles of unspoken hurts
bottled up words
we should have released into the ether
kisses that never made it
to throats and fingertips and lips
sighs full of longing
and sometimes regret

look at me see me remember me
full lips heavy breasts thick thighs
laughter mischief whiskey

the woman you love

now turn around
walk down the hill
around the corner and
turn left at the yellow mailbox
when you reach the lake
use the old rowboat
it works I promise

cross the expanse to the far shore
the sand is warm and inviting
the breeze is perfect
and the sun kisses your shoulders
just so

there are no rights and wrongs
no bitter tastes left on
tongues that long ago
held honey and magic
no past hurts that never healed

there is only me

I too made the journey
and am here
sitting on the shore
watching the horizon
waiting for you


The #Poesia pieces on this blog and Write Bitches are works of fiction, erupting from my incredibly over-active imagination. This piece is inspired by the words of Rumi. It’s slightly edited, totally unscripted, spontaneous, super loose, and part of a collection of  some of my favorite work. These pieces are perfect in their imperfections and I hope you enjoy.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

Leave a Reply

