#WednesdayFreeWrite – CARE PACKAGE

img_7116

CARE PACKAGE

a package arrived in the mail today
perfectly wrapped in polka dot paper
and tied with pretty string

and I knew it was from you
because you know I love all things dotted
and boxes tied with pretty string
remind me life is full of surprise and wonder

and inside
nestled on a soft pillow of silvery tissue
rested my cold dark heart
returned intact
albeit barely beating
horribly bruised
battered and scarred

with a note attached
in your precise script:
RETURN TO SENDER

and perhaps another girl
would cry and rant and lose herself
in the loss of you

but I’ve told you a million times
I’m not like other girls

so thank you
for the care package

I want my heart
I rather like it
and believe one day
someone else will too

I appreciate the time you took
wrapping it just so
it’s back in my chest now
learning to beat anew


My #WednesdayFreeWrite series is based on what I write during the 10 minutes allotted my writing group’s Wednesday Prompt. As always, these pieces are works of fiction, erupting from my incredibly over-active imagination. They are unedited and unscripted, super loose and probably my favorite ten minutes of the week. They are perfect in their imperfections and I hope you enjoy.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

2 thoughts on “#WednesdayFreeWrite – CARE PACKAGE

  1. Madhuri—your poem hit me hard and i find i keep thinking about it—i know i didn’t write a strong enough comment on the other site. but i want you to know that this is a wonderful poem of the severity of pain of someone hurting you and breaking up and “blowing you away” (like the guns of my youth in the westerns of my youth)…..these words are searing: “and inside
    nestled on a soft pillow of silvery tissue
    rested my cold dark heart
    returned intact
    albeit barely beating
    horribly bruised
    battered and scarred”…….but you don’t stop there, hurt and bleeding, letting pain and loneliness, grief and depression seep into your body and mind but rise up (like tennessee williams not so known short play: “i rise in flames cried the phoenix”) as you say: “I want my heart
    I rather like it
    and believe one day
    someone else will too

    I appreciate the time you took
    wrapping it just so
    it’s back in my chest now
    learning to beat anew”…….yes, yes, yes—-“learning” (to beat anew)….on and on we go, taking it all in and learning from it, to refresh ourselves for the next raw encounter with life….thank you for this startling and oh so real and vivid poem….

    • Thanks Daniel. I, too, love this poem for all of its brutal honesty, but also the way it so nicely comes together at the end, much like the wrapping of a package when you seal that last piece of tape. I felt good about it when I wrote it for our Wednesday free write and I feel good about it every time I read it. Plus, getting all of these painful words out is one of the things I love about being a writer – there’s a purpose for even the most gut-wrenching of heartbreaks: poetry. As always, Daniel, thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts on my work. xx

Leave a Reply

