#WednesdayFreeWrite – WHAT IF

3916778790761b9412e631e6056fbbe8 (1)

WHAT IF

what if
you were the kind of man
who took one look at me
and knew
right then and there
I had to be yours

what if
I was the kind of woman
who invited you into my bed
that first night
and then demanded
all of you
for myself

what if
your were the kind of man
who listened to my breath
as I slept next to you
and understood
you needed that soft sweetness
played on repeat
the remainder of your days

what if
I was the kind of woman
who watched you
move around my kitchen
interact with my friends
become part of my life
and served you an ultimatum
right then and there
me or her

what if
you were the kind of man
who touched my skin
held my hand
kissed my mouth
pulled me close
and never ever ever
let me go

what if
I was the kind of woman
who didn’t fall for
pretty words
falling from the lips
of a beautiful soul
and instead rolled my eyes
and told you to
keep it moving

what if
you were the kind of man
who decided I matter
more than most anyone else
who couldn’t bear
my sadness or tears
who loved me desperately
and would go to great lengths
to prove it

what if
I was the kind of woman
who didn’t love hard and fierce
and true
who kept you at a distance
made you feel second-best
who didn’t make time for you
no matter what

what if
you were the kind of man
who knew more than anything
you wanted me
wrapped around you
forever
and made that happen
before I slipped away

what if
I was the kind of woman
who listened to her gut
and the soul-crushing
message it whispered
into her darkest parts
and stopped answering
your emails and texts
leaving you awash
in silence

what if
you were the kind of man
full of action and will
who burned with a desire
to own me
mind body soul
regardless of others
who needed to wake every morning
lying next to me
and then made that conviction
reality

what if
I was the kind of woman
who never let you in
kept you on the periphery
relegated you to lesser importance
never quite first
always second-best

if you were that man
I would fall for you
a hundred lifetimes over

I would never
be that woman

If you were that man
actions would speak
louder than words

I would never
be that woman

If you were that man
I would already be yours

I am
not that woman

Are you that man?


My #WednesdayFreeWrite series is based on what I write during the 10 minutes allotted my writing group’s Wednesday Prompt. As always, these pieces are works of fiction, erupting from my incredibly over-active imagination. They are unedited and unscripted, super loose and probably my favorite ten minutes of the week. They are perfect in their imperfections and I hope you enjoy.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

Leave a Reply

