#WednesdayFreeWrite – NIGHTTIME

Unknown

NIGHTTIME

when you lie awake in the deep of night
do you remember
the curve of my hip
as you dragged your fingers
along my skin

when you lie awake in the deep of night
does the timbre of my voice
the soft consonants and
drawn out vowels
curve around your fantasies

when you lie awake in the deep of night
can you feel my breath
whispered along your skin
as you recall
my mouth pressed to your throat

when you lie awake in the deep of night
are you stilled by thoughts
of the sweat of our bodies
as we wrapped around
each other
sexed up and satisfied

when you lie awake in the deep of night
does my absence
haunt the dark spaces of your soul
those places only I know exist
those places only I inhabit

when you lie awake in the deep of night
do you wish me by your side
eternally
my laughter in your ears
my sighs belonging to you

when you lie awake at night
do you promise yourself
to come for me soon
find me love me
hold me close
for all of our forever evers

when you lie awake at night
do you think of me
my smile my eyes my lips my skin
because all I do
every moment every second
of every day
is think of you


My #WednesdayFreeWrite series is based on what I write during the 10 minutes allotted myΒ writing group’sΒ Wednesday Prompt. As always, these pieces are works of fiction, erupting from my incredibly over-active imagination. They are unedited and unscripted, super loose and probably my favorite ten minutes of the week. They are perfect in their imperfections and I hope you enjoy.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

One thought on “#WednesdayFreeWrite – NIGHTTIME

  1. so fine, Madhuri—I liked the repetition of erotic desires/memories moving toward love and wish and hope that he/she also shares what you feel…..I liked these line especially: “when you lie awake in the deep of night
    does my absence
    haunt the dark spaces of your soul
    those places only I know exist
    those places only I inhabit”…….but it’s hard to choose any lines specially from this most powerful poem!

Leave a Reply

