The Boudica Series – A Night of Poetry

This year has been one of opportunity and excitement when it comes to my writing – both my prose and poetry – from signing my first deal with St Martin’s Press to being a featured poet at James Ruggia’s Backroom Broadsides.

But I must say, taking part in Dominique Sinagra’s THE BOUDICA SERIES this summer has been extra special, mostly because it meant I got to cross paths and work with Dominique, a phenomenal young woman and playwright, but also because the experience tested me on so many levels. I had to be organized, I had to be confident, I had to be personable, I had to step outside of my comfort zone and talk to folks for half an hour about my words, about myself.

It was terrifying and exhilarating and brilliant and if I’m being honest, I cannot wait to do it again. So thank you, Dominique, for letting me grace your stage for a bit, goof around with folks, laugh at myself, and share my work. It was magic.

Thanks also to my girlfriend, Destiny, who caught all of it on my iPhone. And because I’m nice, I’ve broken it down a bit so you can pick and choose which clips you want to watch, or hell, skip ’em altogether.

As always, my hands insisted on being part of the show – however, they’re slowly learning to control themselves.

Slowly.

Which really means they’re still all over the place, just not as wild and crazy as when I first started doing these things.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy…both my words and my hands.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM


I opened with a short, kind-of-sweet piece of romance

then my words for all the brown kids of the world

my Frida Kahlo-inspired poem

what happened after Anton Sterling and Philando Castile

an ode to my nose – yes, I said my nose

words for an ex

a writing prompt from the heart

and finally, the closing act

Leave a Reply

