#Poesia – DO YOU EVER…

635848020959662043-456427973_WorthyLIFE

DO YOU EVER…

As you drag your fingers
along my skin
do you ever stop and consider
my reality versus yours
do you ponder your white privilege
in the face of all of this
endless nonsensical when-will-it-stop murder
of young black men going about the business
of being young black men
do you wonder what I tell my son
as he and I watch footage
that might be too painful for viewing
but is so necessary for me to teach
and him to learn if either of us expect
him to navigate and survive
this mine field we call
the United States of America
home of the free
so long as your skin is the right color
do you ever consider the fact
I must answer my 8 year old
brown-skinned boy when he asks
why the police are always
jumping on brown people and
yelling so loud and acting so mad
do you even have an answer to that
because I don’t
As you drag your fingers
along my skin
do you ever stop and consider
my reality versus yours
my anger versus yours
my sadness versus yours
my son versus yours
because I do
everyday


The #Poesia pieces on this blog and Write Bitches are works of fiction, erupting from my incredibly over-active imagination. They are slightly edited, totally unscripted, spontaneous, super loose, and probably some of my favorite works. They are perfect in their imperfections and I hope you enjoy.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

Leave a Reply

