777 Challenge

IMG_5395

I’m sure you know what a 777 Challenge is because you’ve probably read a ton of them. They’re simple: a writer goes to the 7th page of their current work-in-progress and posts the first seven sentences.

I was tagged to do this one ages ago by my friend Kayti Nika Raet, author of the fabulous Outsider Chronicles, and promised myself to do it but it was April and April is National Poetry Month and I was posting a poem a day for thirty days and the rest is history.

So almost thirty days later, my 777 is from my current WIP, book one of The Keeper Series, DUTCH. And for those of y’all who don’t know, The Keeper Series is a dark erotic romance being published by SWERVE, an imprint of St. Martin’s Press, in 2017.

The quick and dirty on DUTCH:

Dutch Mathew is a lethal killer for The Gate.
Juma Landry has nine lives.
He is tasked with ending each and every one of them.
She isn’t going to make that easy.

And now the 777 on DUTCH:

“Also, no kissing. I know my lips look like they’re made for kissing, but that isn’t going to happen. My lips will not meet yours, now or ever, so push that idea out of your head. Nothing about ‘I am going to fuck you’ implies I’m also going to kiss you. Nothing. Not one fucking thing. So stop gazing longingly at my mouth, gorgeous, because there is no way in hell my tongue is going down your throat. None whatsoever.”

GAH.

Dutch is a motherfucking bastard and I love him.

Madly.

Get ready, folks – The Keepers are coming…

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

2 thoughts on “777 Challenge

Leave a Reply

