#NationalPoetryMonth – Day 29

NationalPoetryDay.Day29

SOME BOYS

in that funky smooth way
Mos Def has with a rhyme
say my name say my name
hey MA
those boys call out every morning
like they’re getting a response
to their question
statement
whatever
DHU-ranged
deranged
that’s what they must be
if they think that shit’s
gonna work on the girls
any girls
me
they need to grow up
learn to be men
car-RI themselves
with some charm and swagger
make it so us girls
don’t have to roll our eyes every
time we pass
MADHURI
say my name say my name
[and make it sound
like Mos would
all sexy and grown]
or else little boy
stfu


April is National Poetry Month and to celebrate – inspired by that badass word warrior Jason Reynolds and my writing promptress Jena Schwartz – I’m going to post a poem every day. These pieces won’t be perfect, they never are, but they’ll be here, every day of April. I hope you stop by and enjoy the words and maybe even feel moved to share some of your own.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

One thought on “#NationalPoetryMonth – Day 29

Leave a Reply

