Work In Progress

Late last year I started thinking about ways I can step outside my comfort zone and really live life to the fullest. It’s so rare to get a second chance to find yourself be yourself enjoy yourself and since I’m getting one, I want to make sure I do as much as I can to really make it count.

Hence the poetry readings I’ve started doing every week. So far I’ve hit the stage in Jersey City, Chicago, and as of last night, I can officially add NYC to my list.

I said for my 45th birthday I was going to do the open mike at the Bowery Poetry Club and despite being scared shitless and totally nervous, but also mad excited, I did it. Around 8:03 pm I was called up to the stage to read the last poem of the evening.

Check it out:

I’m getting better at this, non?

Either way, it was a stellar way to celebrate 45 years of being on this planet – thanks Bowery Poetry and my good friends Patty, Destiny, and Meisha for coming out to show me some love.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

5 thoughts on “Work In Progress

    • Christa, you are far too kind – that was hardly killing it, but there was progress made which has me kind of excited. What’s next? Just going to keep doing these things until I’m comfortable getting up in front of a room, talking about myself, and sharing my work. That’s what this is really about – not so much that I want to evolve into some spoken word performer, but more so that I want to learn to chat about my writing in a way that makes sense and doesn’t have me all shaky and shit.

      • Well, you are my hero. Just thinking of doing that makes me feel like I want to pee my pants. It’s a great idea to take baby steps toward your goal. You are an inspiration!

Leave a Reply

