#NationalPoetryMonth – Day 25

FullSizeRender-2

FOOD OF LOVE – a Wednesday Free Write

feed me freedom
she whispered
I need to know
I can come and go
as I please
when I want
and you won’t despair
my absence
you won’t fear
my disappearance
you will understand
the food of love
is a meal
best eaten
with a smile in my eyes
laughter on our tongues
and kisses made of honey

I will indulge your
every desire
to drift and roam
he replied
I will gather carpets of stars
and blankets of moonbeams
for the nights you are gone
I will wash well-trodden paths
and chop treacherous terrain
for a soup to nourish
your meandering soul
I will milk the heavens
and knead the canyons
to bake your
wanderlust bread

so long as you allow me
to fall in love with you
he promised
I will feed you freedom
wrapped in parchment paper
and tied with a string

please
she replied
her voice a low growl
of lust and desire
fall head over heels for me
make me fat
with your love
then set me free
I promise to return


April is National Poetry Month and to celebrate – inspired by that badass word warrior Jason Reynolds and my writing promptress Jena Schwartz – I’m going to post a poem every day. It’s also my birthday today so it’s quite fitting that this poem is one about love and freedom – a most necessary duo. These pieces won’t be perfect, they never are, but they’ll be here, every day of April. I hope you stop by and enjoy the words and maybe even feel moved to share some of your own.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

photo credit: @ahmet.erdem
2 thoughts on “#NationalPoetryMonth – Day 25

Leave a Reply

