#NationalPoetryMonth – Day 21

NationalPoetryDay.Day21

TRUTH BOMBS

write me a love story
she sighed all dream-like
full of whimsy
and I wondered
how she would feel
if I told her about the girl
with a tongue full of snark
who met the boy
with eyes like stars
and they loved up
on each other
until they couldn’t anymore

I said write me a love story
she growled
not my story


April is National Poetry Month and to celebrate – inspired by that badass word warrior Jason Reynolds and my writing promptress Jena Schwartz – I’m going to post a poem every day. They won’t be perfect, they never are, but they’ll be here, every day of April. I hope you stop by and enjoy the words and maybe even feel moved to share some of your own.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

Leave a Reply

