#NationalPoetryMonth – Day 15

rainy-night-window-pr

11:23pm

I’m sitting in my dark kitchen
Rihanna’s playing in the background
“man, fuck your pride”
god, I love her
and I’m thinking how I really should be wearing my glasses
but fuck it
and it’s a warm night
even though I know tomorrow will bring back the chill
tonight is perfect
and I love the house when the heat isn’t running
and we get to hear all of its creaks and groans
I have a lemony herb taste on my tongue
after snacking on some Mediterranean sweet potato chips
that claim to be healthy
but nothing that yummy is good for you
and damn my butt is big
but I kind of like it
being the rare Indian girl with a round curvy bum
and wow
the rain stopped
Finally


April is National Poetry Month and to celebrate – inspired by that badass word warrior Jason Reynolds – I’m going to post a poem every day. They won’t be perfect, they never are, but they’ll be here, every day of April. I hope you stop by and enjoy the words and maybe even feel moved to share some of your own.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

Leave a Reply

