#NationalPoetryMonth – Day 11

5d696316d433a15567e0a16787bdda65

CRASH INTO ME

hours days weeks
pass as we go about
the business of being you and me
individual
separate
unique
with shared notes and tiny tendernesses
tossed about here and there
I’m thinking of you
hey sexy
you are beautiful
so many words words words
between us
as we rush
through the madness
of life
fast faster fastest
making the most of ourselves
giving it our all
going for broke
until the moment
we walk into that room
strip each other naked
devour each other
body mind soul
I want that moment
that clarity
when nothing matters
but you me us
desire hunger lust
I’m waiting
I’m here
crash into me


April is National Poetry Month and to celebrate – inspired by that badass word warrior Jason Reynolds and my writing promptress Jena Schwartz – I’m going to post a poem every day. They won’t be perfect, they never are, but they’ll be here, every day of April. I hope you stop by and enjoy the words and maybe even feel moved to share some of your own.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

2 thoughts on “#NationalPoetryMonth – Day 11

  1. When I read your poem SERENDIPITY, I wondered if you knew the origin of that word. I remember your Achaca telling me, and it could have been a yarn as he was good at that too, that Columbus was out exploring in the Indian Ocean in search of India when he came upon, by chance, this beautiful isle that he called “swaran deep” which we know today as Sri Lanka. ” Swaran” is gold in the Indian languages and “deep” is island. So, there you have it! I love your poetry. Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

