#NationalPoetryMonth – Day 7

NationalPoetryDay.Day7

ON WRITING

I’ve
set
some
goals
for
myself
daily
counts
this
is
the
least
I
will
write
in
hopes
that
I’ll
really
write
more
to
meet
these
deadlines
and
dreams
and
demands
of
myself
and
others
and
the
game
I’m
busy
I’m
focused
I’m
driven
fingertips
constantly
moving
across
the
keys
ideas
bumping
around
my
feverish
brain
characters
desperate
to
make
it
onto
the
page
words
words
words
I’m
up
late
rise
early
grind
all
day
to
perfect
these
sentences
finish
that
paragraph
enhance
that
scene
I’m
happy
in
heaven
this
is
bliss
I’m
a
word
warrior
an
artist
a
writer
But
sometimes
if
I’m
being
honest
a
girl
just
wants
to
forget
it
all
the
potential
the
prestige
the
what-ifs
and
curl
up
on
the
couch
with
a
neat
whiskey
and
a
sexy
boy
and
laugh
and
touch
and
get
lost
for
a
while…


April is National Poetry Month and to celebrate – inspired by that badass word warrior Jason Reynolds and my writing promptress Jena Schwartz – I’m going to post a poem every day. They won’t be perfect, they never are, but they’ll be here, every day of April. I hope you stop by and enjoy the words and maybe even feel moved to share some of your own.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

Leave a Reply

