#NationalPoetryMonth – Day 3

34-photomanipulation

THE RULES

trip
skip
fall
flat on my face
hands splayed
legs akimbo

that is me
on a regular basis

total klutz
as if my mind
is so far off in the clouds
it forgets to control
my body

movement and thought commingle
in the least graceful manner
missing that chair
stutter-stepping along the sidewalk
catching myself on the stair

pay attention, girlfriend
the universe seems to send a gentle reminder
watch your step, mind the rules

to which I toss my head back and laugh
fuck the rules!

tripping through this game of life
then picking myself back up
is much more fun


April is National Poetry Month and to celebrate – inspired by that badass word warrior Jason Reynolds – I’m going to post a poem every day. They won’t be perfect, they never are, but they’ll be here, every day of April. I hope you stop by and enjoy the words and maybe even feel moved to share some of your own.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

Leave a Reply

