#NationalPoetryMonth – Day 1

SmallTuscanVilla.Day1

ACT II

Over the last few weeks
I’ve been quiet
kept to myself
I haven’t seen too many friends
I haven’t chatted about too much
I’ve kept it simple
to the norm
so nothing seems amiss
so no one senses a change
It’s been solitary
almost still
everyone assumes I’m busy
they’re busy
life hustles and bustles and flows

Little do they know
while they’ve been living
their everyday lives
I’ve gathered boxes
crates
bags
I’ve moved things
taped things
tossed things
I’ve coordinated
charted
negotiated
I’ve wrapped glasses
covered furniture
sealed boxes
I’ve prepared
planned
plotted

Because I realized one night
as I sat alone at my laptop
typing furiously in the dark
a whiskey at my side
glasses on the tip of my nose
I only have one life
but I’m lucky enough
to have two acts
And my second act
is going to be fucking stellar
So I took all my savings
my 401K
I contacted a broker
signed those papers
and I made it happen

It takes place
on a small hill
right outside Florence
in a mid-sized villa
with stone floors and wide windows
arched doorways and claw-foot tubs
There’s a bicycle
for easy access to town
and a school
because The Kid needs that education
The pool is small
but functional
same as the vineyard
and the kind souls who care for them
It’s run down and gorgeous
and just waiting
for our love
(I only hope I can find
a handyman)

Act II is in Italian
it’s romantic and beautiful
it’s so very me
And since I hate goodbyes
am horrible at parting ways
I’m going to grab The Kid
and disappear in the still of the night
without a word to any
wrapped in darkness
our laughter and excitement
mingling with the cool spring air
But don’t worry
we’ll call
and invite y’all for dinner
as we scream
through the phone
APRIL FOOLS!


April is National Poetry Month and to celebrate – inspired by that badass word warrior Jason Reynolds – I’m going to post a poem every day. They won’t be perfect, they never are, but they’ll be here, every day of April. I hope you stop by and enjoy the words and maybe even feel moved to share some of your own.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

 

5 thoughts on “#NationalPoetryMonth – Day 1

Leave a Reply

