Once Upon A (First) Poetry Reading

I did it!

It’s officially in my past, the rear view mirror of life, back there while I’m all the way up here.

Last night at the Fox & Crow in Jersey City Heights, I read my poetry in front of a room full of strangers. And I didn’t vomit all over them.

Don’t get me wrong – I look terrified. I was terrified. And I used my hands way too much – I had NO idea I speak with my hands!! But I survived and only fucked up a few times and all in all, it was a stellar evening with friends, great words, and loads of bourbon.

And guess what? Thanks to my friend, Stephanie, it’s all on video, so part two of this endeavor is being brave enough to share my adventure and let y’all in on me popping my poetry-reading cherry.

Check it out

The hands are killing me. Just killing me. But next week when I go back, I swear those motherfuckers will be under control. Stay tuned.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

8 thoughts on “Once Upon A (First) Poetry Reading

  1. Doing a poetry reading is on my list of fears to conquer. I’m not there yet, but I will take the plunge eventually. I’m happy for you! Just think how it will get easier with each time you give a reading and find your stride and speaking style. How great your friend taped it as well. Yep, this has made my day. Thoughts of Lenny are now dancing in my head 😉

  2. Awww! You’re so cute with your butterfly hands! LOL

    This is on of my favorite (among many) of your poems. Way to conquer that fear! I’ve never been able to do it! Well, first, I’ve never had any poems that I wanted to read in front of anyone…so maybe I need to write that first!

Leave a Reply

