Quote Challenge – Day 1 – Zora Neale Hurston

0_0_135396_eps05_348x290

The other day my friend, fellow writer and Write Bitch, Kayti Nika Raet, tagged a couple of us in her Quote Challenge. The intent seemed pretty clear – get a bunch of folks together to share some great writing – and the premise was so straightforward and simple – share your favorite quotes – that I could hardly resist.

Plus, anything to get me back to posting more regularly around these parts is gladly accepted.

Here are the rules:
1. Post on 3 consecutive days
2. Pick 1 or 3 quotes per day
3. Challenge 3 different bloggers per day
4. Thank the blogger who nominated you

I’m going to state right from the get-go that I’m breaking rule 3 of the challenge because I’m not going to tag anyone – if y’all want to post your own quotes in the comments or on your own blog, by all means please do so. And in deference to rule 4: thanks Kayti – you know I love a good quote.

My inaugural post in the Quotes Challenge is dedicated to the luminous wondrous brilliant fellow Barnard woman (sorry, I couldn’t resist) – one of my favorite writers – Ms Zora Neale Hurston.

God, I love her. So much. If you haven’t read any of Ms. Hurston’s work, I am so damn sorry for you. You’ve gotta grab a copy of Their Eyes Were Watching God and fall in love with both Janie and her gifted creator. Trust me – do it. Thank me later.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

2 thoughts on “Quote Challenge – Day 1 – Zora Neale Hurston

  1. Their Eyes Were Watching God is definitely in my top-ten favorite novels of all time. I read it in my early twenties, at the time having a vague inkling that my life too was a bit ho-hum and that someday two I would have my reawakening. Well, that’s just what happened at age 38. We can be re-born at any point in life. And I got my own version of Teacake as well 😉 Just hope we don’t wash away in a storm!

Leave a Reply

