#Poesia – THE GIFT

fireflies jar field via Pinterest and Oh Hello You Pretty Things Tumblr - cinemascope glow 1960s effect

THE GIFT

You mentioned in passing
a love of the absurd
your eyes lit up
your hands moved excitedly
you seemed boyish and alive

And just as quickly
you changed the subject
reined yourself in
and returned to you

That more adult version
the more respectable one

Well here’s the deal
I kind of like your feral side
so I went in search of the absurd
captured it in a glass
put a lid on top
and punched some holes for air

Keep it on your shelf
next to the tomes and treatises
pull it out every so often
and revel in the magic

It’s my gift to you
to keep long after we’ve parted
my smart serious lover
my beautiful wild child


The #Poesia pieces on this blog and Write Bitches are works of fiction, erupting from my incredibly over-active imagination. These pieces are slightly edited, totally unscripted, spontaneous, super loose, and probably some of my favorite works. They are perfect in their imperfections and I hope you enjoy.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

Leave a Reply

