#Poesia – THESE BLUES

33ee871e546ea45c3c2d84fb515dc664

THESE BLUES

These blues
begin in my toes
balanced on the edge of
forward movement
and yet

My legs ache
with a yearning
and need
for something new
light
and lovely
but now’s not the time
for good shit
now’s the time
for some dark fuckery

Moving through my hips
those sexy things
boys wrap their hands around
hold onto
love
is some gunk
a lingering bullshit
that stews and spits

My pussy
that gorgeous mystery
of sweetness
and honey
clamps down in ire
shouting a warning
“enough already!”
but no one’s listening

Churning
burning
smoke
a fire sparks
in my belly
ignition
but will it be enough
to scorch the sadness

Arms
sinew and muscle
wrapped around
a lover’s neck
can’t seem to shake
the feeling
of loss and confusion
anger
and mixed in
for good measure
a little grief

My throat
sensitive as fuck
aware of the slightest touch
feather-light kisses
breath-like caresses
constricts
closes
as if to ward off the dread
but it keeps
marching on

Lips
parted and full
sometimes in mischief
or maybe lust
but today
downturned
yet determined to smile
again
soon

That funk
that junk
that crap I can’t shake
it’s dark
dank
cloying

It reaches my eyes
those mirrors into the soul
and even though
I might laugh and crack a joke
smile
blow a kiss
look deep my lover
past the pseudo
joie de vivre
really get all up in there
and then you’ll see

My deep browns
fuuuuuuuuck
they’re blue as shit


A little note to anyone who reads this and knows me and is all like, holy shit, let me call her and make sure she’s all right – do not worry, I am totally fine. And do not call me because you KNOW I hate talking on the phone. Yeah, my poem is called These Blues and yeah, I know it talks about all kinds of funk and fuckery, but I’m a writer, this is what we do – we comment on our lives and the world around us. It’s as simple as that. Sure, I’m a little blue and shit’s not perfect, but aren’t we all in the same boat? I just put my crap down on paper. But thanks – I love y’all and your worrying asses.

The #Poesia pieces on this blog and Write Bitches are works of fiction, erupting from my incredibly over-active imagination. These pieces are slightly edited, totally unscripted, spontaneous, super loose, and probably some of my favorite works. They are perfect in their imperfections and I hope you enjoy.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

Leave a Reply

