#WednesdayFreeWrite – WAKE ME WHEN IT’S OVER

japan-travel--discover-okinawa--alone-on-the-dock-fantasy-beach-in-sunrise-okinawa-island--japan-travel-photos-108437

WAKE ME WHEN IT’S OVER

“Wake me when it’s over,” she wrote
our wondrous prompstress
that loving and devoted poet
who guides us
through these days
of writing
creating
being
offering us a safe space
within which
we confide
laugh
sex each other up
(okay,
admittedly
that’s my job)

WAKE all of us
from the fear of sharing
unedited
raw
possibly full of mistakes
writing
so personal
and unique
that is The Inky Path

Teach ME
to feel confident
in the inner rhythm
that thumps in my heart
beats in my blood
lives in my bones
and fights to make it onto the paper
every time I write
that is The Inky Path

Hold me
in the comfort of strangers
who have so quickly
become family
WHEN I’m at my lowest
foundering on the edges
trying to gather
the pieces of myself
and continue
that is The Inky Path

IT’S a glorious endeavor
this thing we call writing
this beast who burns
within our souls
taking on so many different
shapes and forms
representing our
many and varied selves
coming together
to make this whole
that is The Inky Path

I say it all the time
again and again
OVER and over
I have yet to find such a place
so open and safe
warm and passionate
giving and full of grace
nor such beautiful souls
bursting with creative juju
overflowing with love
imbibing on the sexy of our brilliant union
that is The Inky Path

Wake me when it’s over?
Fuck that shit
I never want to sleep
I just want to live
breathe
love
laugh
write
that is The Inky Path


This is my love note to my writing group The Inky Path and all of my lovely Inksters – I am one lucky bitch to have found all of y’all. Here’s to a most brilliant 2016 for all of us. Mad love to everyone. Fuck yeah.

My #WednesdayFreeWrite series is based on what I write during the 10 minutes allotted myΒ writing group’sΒ Wednesday Prompt. As always, these pieces are works of fiction, erupting from my incredibly over-active imagination. They are unedited and unscripted, super loose and probably my favorite ten minutes of the week. They are perfect in their imperfections and I hope you enjoy.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

2 thoughts on “#WednesdayFreeWrite – WAKE ME WHEN IT’S OVER

Leave a Reply

