#PauseForPoetry – D + J Redux

SquareDutch

D + J Redux

I wear a pretty big sign
Across my chest
On my forehead
In my eyeballs

Do not trespass
Do not touch

And I don’t think she gives a fuck

I told her she was ugly
And she laughed
I told her she was stupid
And she quoted some random poetry
That left my head spinning

I told her I was made of thorns and nettles
And she put on some gloves
I pushed her
And she pushed me back

I disappeared and found countless others
To sink myself into
All the while
Thinking of her

She is loads of fuckery and trouble
She is too much too fast

She is heat and touch and gentleness
All things I cannot afford

She is light and laughter
And I am a black pit of poison

I told her this
In an effort to save her
And she laughed
And said she was here to save me so bring it

I wear a pretty big sign
Across my chest
On my forehead
In my eyeballs

Do not trespass
Do not touch

And I don’t think she gives a fuck
But she better start


This poem is inspired by Dutch and Juma and is, in fact, in book two of The Keeper Series, JUMA. So for any of y’all reading this, it’s a teaser of what’s to come. Of course, I still have a ton to write, but it’s getting written, it’s happening, and it’s really fucking good. At least for me, the writer, it is – for any of you readers out there who like your romance simple and straight-forward, JUMA is going to have you in fits. But good fits…trust me on this one.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

2 thoughts on “#PauseForPoetry – D + J Redux

Leave a Reply

