#WednesdayFreeWrite – RUNNING INTO LOVE

63e9434c50e4b12e254762cf08d55191

RUNNING INTO LOVE

Clothes spinning on a rack
The Junkman’s Daughter
Combat boots
Long wild curly hair
Carefree head-tossed-back
not-a-care-in-the-world laughter

He said that was me
when he ran into love
Funny thing is
I don’t even remember that moment

I recall a dress
on a rack
a dirty joke
told under my breath
and then him
suddenly filling my gaze
hitching my breath
unmooring me

Right then and there
an almost shy
request for a date
But who were we kidding?
How shy could you be
when you asked a girl out
before even asking her name?

And that’s when I ran into love
because I knew
he would be like no other

He would know what he wanted (me)
what I wanted (him)
and how to make it happen
He would decide
without hemming and hawing
and asking my opinion
a million and one times
He would fuck me
hard and fast
nice and slow
big-dicking me against that wall
in my kitchen
He would talk dirty and demanding
put me in my place
and take none of my shit
And when I got a little rowdy
he would smack my ass
just so
The perfect mixture
of pleasure and pain
command and obey
dichotomous nirvana
That was him
and me
and us

Running into love
head first
eyes wide open
souls aflame


My #WednesdayFreeWrite series is based on what I write during the 10 minutes allotted my writing group’s Wednesday Prompt. As always, these pieces are works of fiction, erupting from my incredibly over-active imagination. They are unedited and unscripted, super loose and probably my favorite ten minutes of the week. They are perfect in their imperfections and I hope you enjoy.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

Leave a Reply

