Getting Proustian With…CHEVOQUE – The Interview Series

What happens
when two dirty-minded girls
pass each other
– in the virtual sense –
in the night?

Most likely
they click
share some dirty stories
read each other’s stuff
trade interviews
and love up on each other
in that way Indie Authors
love to do

That’s Chevoque and me

Chevoque

I read her interview on Write Bitches and kind of fell for her
she read Dutch and kind of fell for me
and that’s it

love
laughs
– dirty ones of course –
friends

So check her out as she gets a little Proustian With It


Getting Proustian With…

Chevoque

1. What is your idea of perfect happiness? A sanctuary; a huge farm with a river and, if I can get my way, a beach also close by.  There must be a lot of animals; farm animals and pets who are in need of a sanctuary.  That sounds a little like ‘heaven’ to me.

2. What is your greatest fear? Not having the time I need to do all the things I want to and not achieving my goals before saying goodbye to this world.

3. What is the trait you most deplore in yourself? I prefer being alone and while I love it this way, I feel like I’ve missed and am missing things – what exactly I’m not sure yet – in life that once I’m older, I’ll regret it.

4. What is the trait you most deplore in others? Sticking with the old way.  To explain; I don’t believe that we should always do the same things due to tradition and culture.  Time changes and we should do the same.  As with the adapt or die concept, (at least you won’t die) I believe times are different and in regard to race, sexuality and so forth, we can’t live by the way our ancestors had, because to me it is a primitive way of thinking.

5. Which living person do you most admire? There are many and they are all equal to me.  My parents; for what they taught me.  My dogs; for how they love me.  My partner; how he sees me like no one else.  My friends; for how they support me.

6. What is your current state of mind? Content.

7. What do you consider the most overrated virtue? Patience.  I am not talking about waiting for the pizza type stuff, but when it comes to bigger things.  Like if I had worked hard on something, I wanna see the ‘results’ almost immediately, even though I know that isn’t how the world works.

8. On what occasion do you lie? When not wanting to hurt someone’s feelings, when they don’t need another person to remind them of it.

9. What do you most dislike about your appearance? Nothing, it is who I am and if someone else has a problem, that is their issue.

10. Which living person do you most despise? No one, my enemies are in books, games, movies and TV series.

11. What is the quality you most like in a man? Honesty, acceptance and tolerance.

12. What is the quality you most like in a woman? Honesty, acceptance and tolerance.

13. Which words or phrases do you most overuse? ‘Ag, shame’, but based on the South African use.  I use it; when I find out someone’s in the hospital, when my dog does something cute, when I’m being sarcastic and whenever else it seems suited.  It is maybe a South African thing though…

14. What or who is the greatest love of your life? Music.  I’m a self-professed music addict and I can’t go a day without it.

15. When and where were you happiest? Many memories pop up, but I am happy with where I am now in my life.

16. Which talent would you most like to have? To pitch perfectly when I sing; be it clean or unclean vocals, I always sing along and I don’t care how I sound, but as a favour to those who hear me, I’d like to sound a little better for their sake.

17. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? To focus on one thing at a time; my mind is all over the place.

18. What do you consider your greatest achievement? My BSc. Environmental and Biological Sciences I hope to never use, because I was aiming for tree hugger and it wasn’t all that, but I actually got something to show for years of working my bum off.

19. If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be? I love the idea of reincarnation, but I think once on this planet would be time enough.

20. Where would you most like to live? I love South Africa, so I’ll pick it every time, but I would be so glad to see our people taken care of the way Madiba wished for it.

21. What is your most treasured possession? Not that I’d ever claim possession over any animal, but my two furry babies, Chloé and Zoey, are my everything.

22. What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery? Losing hope.

23. What is your favorite occupation? Being an author.

24. What is your most marked characteristic? Compassion for all animals.

25. What do you most value in your friends? Tolerance.

26. Who are your favorite writers? There are too many great minds to only pick a few.  Any person who writes their heart out and can grip readers’ imaginations is awesome.

27. Which historical figure do you most identify with? I suppose Charles Darwin, he was someone who thought differently and people might not always agree with what he said, but there is a great lesson I learned from it.  Just because you don’t see the world and believe in things the way others around you does, doesn’t mean what you believe in is wrong.

28. Who are your heroes in real life? Anyone who stands up for what they believe in.

29. What are your favorite names? I love Chevoque and Zanandie.  While I am using Chevoque as my penname, both were one of the names my mum was looking at to name me, so it just works.

30. What is it that you most dislike? Intolerance.

31. What is your greatest regret? None thus far, but maybe in a few year I will screw up something, so ask me then.

32. How would you like to die? I would like not to die, but I suppose passing in a peaceful sleep, after I’ve done most of what I wanted to, knowing I had actually lived a life with few regrets, would be neat.

33. What is your motto? Different doesn’t mean broken.


11223360_10203248813576019_2343463358324441707_o

Rochelle de Beer was born on 15 May 1992 in Klerksdorp, South Africa, and as an only child, the world seemed like a lonely place, until she set her mind free and got lost in the worlds she created herself. Her writing started at a young age and with numerous stories still waiting to be released from her mind, only time now seems to hold her back. She also has a degree in BSc. Environmental and Biological Sciences, because she’s a tree hugging animal lover, who hopes to never use her degree to cause cruelty.

You can find her all over the inter webs:
Amazon: Chevoque
Amazon Reviews: Chevoque
Facebook page: Chevoque
Goodreads: Chevoque
Google+: Chevoqu de Beer
Instagram: Chevoque
LinkedIn: Rochelle ‘Chevoque’ de Beer
Pinterest: Chevoque
Shelfari: Chevoque
Twitter: @Chevoque
Tumbler: Chevoque
YouTube: Chevoque

2 thoughts on “Getting Proustian With…CHEVOQUE – The Interview Series

Leave a Reply

