Michele, My Belle

For someone who loves playing around with words and fitting them together to make these smutty stories and kinda filthy poems, there are few things I find difficult to put down on paper. I can kill and maim and titillate and tease, and I love doing it. All of it.

But every so often there are moments I’m left a little speechless and words fail me.

This week I’ve been having some of those wordless moments where it’s difficult to give my thoughts and ideas the justice they’re due. However, now that it’s Friday and I’ve had some time for things to sit and simmer and marinate a bit, I think I’m ready to give it a shot.

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, or read my trilogy, The Sanctum, then you know my friend, Michele Mason Holmberg, designed the gorgeous and unique covers for those books.

10422447_10152937028488567_7180522840085038811_n

They’re fucking stunning and I love them, mostly because they don’t fit the genre – there’s no girl with long, flowing hair, wielding a weapon with a wicked gleam in her eye. Instead, there’s the outline of a woman’s curves that is artsy and sophisticated and utterly original. A hint of something quite magical.

unnamed

Michele continued working her gangsta for books II and III and I really didn’t think she could outdo herself after the brilliance she displayed when designing The Prophecy. That silhouette of Wyatt and Dev to this day grabs me and gets me all in the feels.

The_boy_final 10912883_10152928445318567_1869300017_n

But I was wrong because my favorite Art Bitch has gone and done it again.

Last weekend I hit her up, told her I needed a cover for Dutch, I wanted it stark and simple and chic, but also a little scary. I told her I wanted some sort of symbol for Dutch somewhere small on the cover and then maybe Juma, for book two, could have her own symbol and then I sent her a very artsy drawing of Ganesha and threw around suggestions like cigarettes and bourbon. And Michele, being the patient and loving friend she is, listened to it all. All of my nonsense and babbling and talking about other projects I want to start – she heard me out, then told me to wait a second, and a few minutes later, sent me my cover.

And I was rendered speechless.

Because she’s an Art Bitch, the baddest one I know, and that’s how she gets down.

It’s sexy and scary at the same time and so, so Dutch. And I totally can’t wait to reveal it, but that’s another post for another day.

Right now, I want to tell her thank you, in a very public way, one that might not be her favorite because for some reason she likes to keep her gangsta on the down low, but I’m going to do it anyway. Michele is the best and I’m really so lucky she’s in my life – not just for the stunning covers she designs on my measly budgets, but also for the magic of her friendship, the generosity of her spirit, and her banging ass quinoa salad.

10418390_10152506316501048_4420703282561508810_n

I love you, girl.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

Leave a Reply

