#WednesdayFreeWrite – FIRE ESCAPE

nyc-fire-escape-1-1-2013_hd-720p-1024x576

FIRE ESCAPE

Those guys on the corner of 15th street
and 8th avenue
the ones selling weed and cocaine and ecstasy
and really anything the white kids want
they’re fucking gorgeous
mindblowingly hot
they move like sex
and make me think all kinds of wicked shit
as I sit on my fire escape
and watch them do their dirty

Those women wrapped around each other
under the low street light
Her hand on her hip
and her lips on her throat
pressed against each other
so turned on
They live above me
and later tonight
she’ll be crying
while she’s beating her with whatever she can get her hands on
and I’ll be sitting here on my fire escape
listening to it all

That guy right there
the skinny dude with his hand above his eyes
blocking out the sun
searching the sky
track marks on his arm
I know him
we’re friends and I love him to death
but he’s an addict
and has started shooting up
and I just bought this television
and those books
so I’m going to keep sitting on my fire escape
and pretend I don’t see him

You
with your long eyelashes
and big eyes
your new haircut and that full mouth
With your fine ass
and washboard abs
Who fought me tooth and nail
because you wanted to paint
and I wanted you out of my space
for two fucking seconds
please
Come over here
and bring those hands that know my body
and that dick that is all kinds of magic
And let’s hang on my fire escape
and forget everything but each other


My #WednesdayFreeWrite series is based on what I write during the 10 minutes allotted for my writing group’s Wednesday Prompt. It’s an unedited free write and probably my favorite ten minutes of the week. It’s perfect in its imperfections and I hope you enjoy.

BlogSignature

One thought on “#WednesdayFreeWrite – FIRE ESCAPE

  1. Pingback: The Fire Escape :: A Freewrite | Jena Schwartz

Leave a Reply

