The Craziest Thing Happened Today

Screen Shot 2015-06-19 at 12.39.32 AM

For all of you Jacks and Kellys and Chads and Michelles, things like this happen everyday. You see your name everywhere – in newspapers, on buses, in magazines, on television.

But for me,
a brown girl named Madhuri
with parents from the other side of the globe
and uncles and aunts and grandparents living anywhere but the US
this NEVER happens.

On my way home tonight I was reading Thelonious Legend’s SINS OF THE FATHERΒ and lo and behold, one of the characters is named Madhuri.

Wh-wh-what??

First I froze, then I re-read the passage to make sure I wasn’t imagining things, then I got all stupid and silly and started tweeting mad foolishness about seeing my name for the first. time. ever. in a non-Indian, US author’s book.

Screen Shot 2015-06-19 at 12.57.29 AM

I get a bit ridiculous when I get excited and seeing my name like that had me ALL kinds of thrilled. It made up for all those times the store didn’t sell a Madhuri cup or a Madhuri bookmark or a Madhuri keychain and on some microcosmic level that I’m not even going to begin analyzing in this post, I felt like I counted, like I was there and someone noticed. It might sound silly, but try living your entire life, never once seeing your name somewhere in a book…

like i said, I’m not even going to really go there in this post. Mostly because it’s 1:08 in the morning and I’m tired and after the epic sadness of the Charleston terror attack – because come on people, that was a fucking terrorist attack, I don’t care how you try and spin it – I just can’t right now.

What I will say is that after a day like today, full of tragedy and grim realities, reading this passage was my little ray of light.

Thanks for that, Thelonious, I needed it.

(Doesn’t mean you’re off the hook – you still better learn to say my name!)

3 thoughts on “The Craziest Thing Happened Today

  1. Wow! Being able to see ourselves in pages can make a difference. Being able to acknowledge some likeness, some shared experience, some trait that tethers us to characters that we read makes us cling to certain books like a lifeboat in a sea of whiteness and is why diversity matters. It’s why diversity will always matter.

  2. Lol, he totally botched Libertad that time he interviewed Issa Rae! XD Im not sure why people always think my name is Liberta like Roberta, or Libertard like Leotard.

    It’s Lee-bearrr-todd! You’re not alone Madhuri!

Leave a Reply

