Fifty Shades of Magicals and Smart Girl Smut

I am a total sucker for a good romance, the tension, the yearning, the stolen glances, the first time lips press to the curve of a throat, all of that. Give it to me, time and time again, especially when it involves badasses waging epic battles, wielding all kinds of magic, saving the world from monsters, on the backs of dragons.

Of course, on the backs of dragons.

11009923_785793868194667_1671208898473608831_o

But if I’m being honest, what I really love is a mind-blowing

soul-stirring

sexy as sin

fuck.

Especially when I’m the one writing it.

When I first started working on The Sanctum Trilogy, I considered it to be the story of this fierce woman, her quest to avenge the murder of her family, and along the way, fulfill a eons-old prophecy to vanquish the encroaching forces of evil. Looking back on the trilogy as it stands in its completed form, I realize that in reality it is an epic love story with all kinds of magic and malevolence and badassery thrown into the mix.

Where I began with the intention of writing Dev’s story, in truth I wound up crafting Wyatt’s. And where I restrained myself in THE GIRL on writing the romance in all its steamy detail, by the time I completed THE PROPHECY, I was allowing myself much more freedom to explore the sexier side of things. So much so that one reviewer called it “steamy erotic fantasy” while another gave the trilogy its best hashtag ever: #fiftyshadesofmagicals

10999316_732764890164232_804544293073084520_n

The Sanctum was just a warm up exercise – now I’ve got my game face and it’s about to be on.

I have the most fun writing what I like to call Smart Girl Smut: erotica that goes beyond the usual tropes, is diverse, is thoughtful, well-written, and fucking hot as shit.

Panty-melting and intellectual.

Cold-shower inducing and fantastical.

Fifty shades of scorching hot brilliance – my characters that is, not me.

Tasha L. Harrison writes it. So does Lauren Blakely. And then there’s my personal favorite Smart Girl Smut peddler, Meredith Wild, she of the smarty pants, hot as shit, will smack your ass and make you come, Blake Landon.

Of course, being a girl who loves her stories full of magic and swords, vampires and assassins, I’ll never write a strict romance because my imagination is forever fueled by the fantastical and paranormal, but my new stuff is hotter, sexier, smuttier. And loads of fun – you just might need to take a cold shower afterwards.

Right now I’m putting the finishing touches on the first book in my urban fantasy duology, The Nine Deaths of Dutch Mathews, and if you’ve been following my Facebook page or my blog, then you’ve gotten some hints as to what’s up with Dutch and Juma.

 TheDressforIG

TheKiss

Then after D+J, it’s back to The Sanctum and my first book in that series, The Warriors, which is Ryker and Jools and if you already know their story, then you also know they’re kind of hot. For those of you who don’t, here’s a little tease:

“You like this, don’t you, Morrison?”

“You? Naked? Twenty-four seven?” he asked, running his hands over her breasts before his mouth did the same, “I love it, Clayworth.”

Jools gasped, “stop.”

“Why?” he asked as his tongue circled her nipple.

And although she knew what she wanted to say, and how she would say it, the words could not seem to leave her lips, so enthralled was she by his mouth. 

And his hands

which had moved from her breasts to her thighs, his long fingers teasing and touching, becoming slick with her desire before slipping inside her, creating all sorts of maddening wickedness, making it impossible for her to do much else besides move to the rhythm he created. 

“Why Jools?” Ryker asked her again, his tongue tracing the shell of her ear. 

“Because…” she gasped, eyes closed, back arched, unable to complete her sentence. 

Then she heard him chuckle. The sound from deep in his chest, like pure sex, and it took her over the edge. 

His voice did that. 

His fingers helped, but his voice provided that final push as Jools cried out his name before collapsing in his arms.

“Twice in less than five minutes,” Ryker observed with a smirk, “you are insatiable, Clayworth.”

So I hope you stick around because I think it’s going to be really good

unique and exciting

sexy and smart

a little nasty with some good ole raunch thrown in here and there

and as always, diverse as the world around us.

You’ve been warned.

Screen Shot 2015-05-10 at 9.38.05 PM

4 thoughts on “Fifty Shades of Magicals and Smart Girl Smut

  1. This reads FUN! My introduction to fantasy was Robert Asprin’s Thieves’ World and it was smart and sexy. Then I was told I should read the classics–and did. *Blasphemy Trigger* Tolkien and Howard made me think I hated: fantasy, fiction, reading, pizza, my dog, I can go on… But smart sexy writers like Carey and Due made me change my mind.

    • Excellent – I’m thrilled it reads that way because it sure as hell is fun to write. And as much as I love smut-peddling, I’ve gotta stand up for my love, JRR Tolkien. Without his epic tales, I don’t know if I’d be the writer I am today. Then again, I’m a total nerd like that. Can’t wait to get Dutch and Juma into people’s hands to hear what they think…

Leave a Reply

