Getting Proustian With…LAXMI HARIHARAN – The Interview Series

I’m kind of a nosy bitch, real subtle like, but still, nosy as shit, giving my two cents even when it isn’t requested. Which has gotten me in loads of trouble, heaps of it in fact, but that is another story altogether and one that will never be told anywhere on this blog

but is excellent fodder for a book…

heh-heh.

Anyway, I discovered Laxmi Hariharan a while ago on Wattpad, one, because she writes dystopian fiction, two, because she’s Indian, and three, because I love growing my circle of diverse writer friends, especially when we work in similar genres. I added her book to my library, started reading it – it’s really freaking good – and of course, momentarily stalked her on the internet

Laxmi1     Laxmi3bookcover  Laxmi3bookcover2 because that’s the kind of shit we do these days.

She and I had some random exchanges on Twitter but nothing major and then a couple of months ago, friends who are really into reading diverse authors and literature were talking about her, wondering if she’s any good, should they check her out, blah, blah, blah.

And this is where my nosiness kicked in, because I usually avoid these conversations, but this time I chirped right up and told them she was great, they should read her stuff, she and I are friendly, whatever. Then I thought, hey! quid pro quo time and I headed off to tell Laxmi about how her name came up in random conversation and see whether she would be down for getting a little Proustian with me and my blog.

She said she would love to and the rest is history.

So please, enjoy the woman who calls London home and Bombay the place that fires her imagination.


 

Getting Proustian With…

LAXMI HARIHARAN

 

1 What is your idea of perfect happiness? Discovering the elixir of youth

2 What is your greatest fear? Dying before I get my next book out

3 What is the trait you most deplore in yourself? I overanalyse everything

4 What is the trait you most deplore in others? Those who are two faced or dishonest or just mean

5 What is your greatest extravagance? My iPhone 6+ and the nutribullet I am going to buy 🙂

6 What is your current state of mind? In Transit

7 What do you consider the most overrated virtue? Having money

8 On what occasion do you lie? For a good cause

9 What do you most dislike about your appearance? My square jaw and my shortsightedness

10 What is the quality you most like in a man? Sensitivity and a sense of humour

11 What is the quality you most like in a woman? One who doesn’t take herself too seriously

12 Which words or phrases do you most overuse? I want to follow my heart

13 What or who is the greatest love of your life? My husband and then Ruby Iyer

14 When and where were you happiest? Writing at my desk without worrying about the outside world with The1975 on spotify

15 Which talent would you most like to have? Really get to understand the guts of my characters

16 If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be? A fictional character

17 Where would you most like to live? London where I live now

18 What is your most treasured possession? My 6+

19 What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery? Someone who lies to oneself very convincingly and lives a lie

20 What is your most marked characteristic? I am too focussed

21 What do you most value in your friends? Generosity

22 Who are your favorite writers? GRR Martin and Salman Rushdie

23 Who is your hero of fiction? Batman

24 Which historical figure do you most identify with? Amelia Earhart

25 What are your favorite names? Vikram

26 What is it that you most dislike? Liars

27 How would you like to die? Gone in 60 seconds

28 What is your motto? Just do it


 

Laxmi2  A near life experience told Laxmi Hariharan to write. She never stopped. Laxmi is the creator of The Ruby Iyer Series (The Many Lives of Ruby Iyer & The Ruby Iyer Diaries, both of which rank within Amazon’s top 100 books in their genre), and the Amazon bestselling, eLit Gold winner The Destiny of Shaitan (Bombay Chronicles, 1). Laxmi has been a journalist with The Independent and a global marketer with NBCU and MTV. She also blogs for Huffington Post, among others.
Laxmi writes Young Adult books, often while listening to electronica music mixed by Dutch DJs. She also has a weakness for skinny, tattooed rockstars. London is where she creates. Bombay is what fires her imagination.
Reach her on twitter/ vine @laxmi, on instagram – laxmiwrites, on tumblr – laxmihariharan, or at http://www.laxmihariharan.com/

Laxmi3bookcover2 Read the Ruby Iyer Diaries for free on Amazon by clicking –> HERE

Laxmi3bookcover Download The Many Lives of Ruby Iyer for just $.99 this month by clicking –> HERE

And head over to Laxmi’s blog, Young Adult Old Soul, to enter the giveaway she’s hosting this month to win an iPhone 6 by clicking here –> HERE

 

6 thoughts on “Getting Proustian With…LAXMI HARIHARAN – The Interview Series

  1. Pingback: Getting Proustian With…LAXMI HARIHARAN – The Interview Series | Young Adult Old Soul

    • It’s the best. I’ve used it for years when developing my characters – it helps me really get into their heads. So I thought it would make a great interview series, hit up some folks I know, and there you have it. It’s been loads of fun learning all kinds of random shit about folks.

Leave a Reply

