Getting Proustian With…KAYTI NIKA RAET – The Interview Series

Not everyone I interview for Getting Proustian With… is a personal friend, but I do try to share a little tidbit about our interactions with each other when I introduce them. One, because it’s fun to let people in on behind-the-scenes shit and two, because folks love random details

at least I know I do and since this is my interview series, I kinda get to do whatever I like.

If you’ve been following my blog or other social media sites, then you probably know Kayti Nika Raet and I are what you might call friendly.

Kayti2   For those of you who don’t know, here’s the quick and dirty: Kayti reviewed my book, THE GIRL, and although I don’t really think it was her cup of tea, she still let me kind of weasel my way into her life. A couple of years later, she played a major role in helping me complete my trilogy, we’re doing WRITE BITCHES together – along with author Laura Oliva – and I’m eagerly awaiting the publication of the fourth and final book in her dystopian series, The Outsider Chronicles.

OutsiderChronicles.3Covers

Kayti is a phenomenal writer – the tension and terror engulfing her characters’ lives is gripping, their tiny heartbreaks are full of feels – and if you haven’t picked up NIKO or HARM or OUTSIDER, well then, I am sorry for you. First, because you have no idea how badass a girl and her bat can be. Second, because you have no idea how creepy some boys can be. Third, because you have no idea how terrifying a Slither can be. And finally, because you don’t know Songhay.

Trust me, you want to know Songhay.

Anyway, between all of her writing and blogging and tweeting, she managed to carve out some time for my interview series

yea me.

And now I’m going to turn it over to her

yea you

because what she’s got to say is far more interesting than anything I’ve babbled about this Monday morning.

Enjoy.


 Getting Proustian With…

KAYTI NIKA RAET

1. What is your idea of perfect happiness? Some place quiet.

2. What is your greatest fear? I always thought of great fears as something rules how you live and interact with people, like fear of failure, or fear of being ignored. I have a bunch of little random fears (dogs are scary) but not a big one. At least, I’m not aware of it yet.

3. What is the trait you most deplore in yourself? Laziness. I know I should get up and do it, but this bed is so warm!

4. What is the trait you most deplore in others? Insecurity. While I understand that everyone has their moments of insecurity,  my experience with those who are drowning in it has been very negative, and now, if I spot it in someone, I have to try really hard not to close myself off.

5. What is your greatest extravagance? Eh heh heh. Rofl.

6. What is your current state of mind? Antsy. I feel that I’m about to go through a time management crisis.

7. What do you consider the most overrated virtue? Tolerance. I never got why people use it like it’s a good thing. You tolerate things you don’t exactly like because, hey, it could be worse.

*gets off soapbox*

8. On what occasion do you lie? I stumbled upon this great quote by Carl Henegan that I think sums it up perfectly “An author never lies, we do, however tend to speak in a fictional prose.”

9. What do you most dislike about your appearance? Ugh. Sideburns. Why must you plague me so?

*You didn’t ask but I’ll share anyway. My favorite feature is my nose. It is perfect.

10. Which living person do you most despise? They aren’t worth the energy.

11. What is the quality you most like in a man? Ooo, this is actually kind of hard! So many to choose from…Okay. Initiative.

12. What is the quality you most like in a woman? A much easier question! Intelligence.

13. Which words or phrases do you most overuse? Awesome, like, okay, well, so

14. When and where were you happiest? I don’t have anything specific, but I like being in small, dark, peaceful places, alone with my thoughts.

15. Which talent would you most like to have? Athletism. Is that a talent? It should be. I want it. I have no endurance.

16. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be? I’m assuming this is some kind of magic wand thing. If that’s the case, laziness be gone!

Well. That was ironic.

17. What do you consider your greatest achievement? It hasn’t happened yet. Get back to me in three years.

18. If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be? A fish! I don’t know what kind but to be able to breathe underwater would be cool.

19. Where would you most like to live? As much as I say I like quiet, I also really like the vibrancy (and museums!) that the city offers.

20. What is your most treasured possession? I got this purse from my grandma as a kid. She died, and it’s the only gift I have from her. It’s been patched up a lot over the years, but I’m definitely not throwing it out.

21. What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery? About ten years ago I became really depressed. It was suffocating, and I do everything I can to avoid having that happen again.

22. What is your favorite occupation? Writer. Duh.

23. What is your most marked characteristic? Generosity. Though I do like to think that I’m pretty charming. 🙂

24. What do you most value in your friends? Humor/sacrasm/wit

25. Who are your favorite writers? Oh my god! There are so many! *dither* *dither* Okay. I’ll keep it to ones that have influenced me: Tannanarive Due, Langston Hughes, Sarah Reese Brennan, Dia Reeves, Tite Kubo, Stephenie Meyer, and Amelia Atwater-Rhodes.

26. Which historical figure do you most identify with? I always thought Sojurner Truth was pretty cool.

27. What are your favorite names? I prefer names made of soft vowels and consonants, with a hard one thrown in for spice. I like unusual names (like Inanthe) more than ordinary ones, even though (since I’m never consistant) I also like the name Jane.

28. What is it that you most dislike? Cowardice. Pickles. Mayonnaise. Indecisiveness.

29. What is your greatest regret? Well I haven’t done (or admitted to) anything that has really hurt somebody, so nothing yet!

30. How would you like to die? From old age 😉

31. What is your motto? Do better.


Kayti  Originally from Brooklyn, New York, Kayti Nika Raet moved down South when she was 11, where she was bitten by the writing bug, as well as other, less friendly insects.

She is the author of the Outsider Chronicles, a five book series starting with NIKO and set in a world where the rain burns like acid and flesh eating monsters roam.

She’s also a reviewer for Readers’ Favorite and has her own Youtube Channel: Kayti Edition.
When she is not hard at work on her fourth book she has fun reading, listening to K-pop, and photography.

Kayti lives in Milledgeville, Georgia but can easily be found on Twitter or her blog or Facebook, but now I’m feeling too lazy to do the hyperlink…

Grab her books – seriously – they’re so good.

4 thoughts on “Getting Proustian With…KAYTI NIKA RAET – The Interview Series

  1. Pingback: Getting Proustian | KNRWrites

Leave a Reply

