Book Review: What The Body Needs by Laura Oliva

91QpCPYj0sL._SL1500_

Romantic Suspense

Published January 2014


Meet Jak and Marcus, two survivors of their own hells, on a collision course with each other.

Jak does not want to be touched. Not after what happened five years ago.

Marcus cannot forgive himself. Not after what he allowed to happen to his sister.

One night, slammed against the wall of a dark alley outside a bar, changes everything for these two in ways they least expect. And begins the painful and beautiful story of their damaged souls.

I must admit, I don’t typically read romance novels as I’m a fantasy girl who loves her world full of dragons and demons, vampires and fae. And the more fantastical, the better. So curling up with the very real and very broken Jak and Marcus was hardly something I considered, much less believed would suck me in for a weekend. But it happened and my own writing deadlines be damned, I’m so glad it did.

Laura Oliva’s characters are multi-dimensional and complicated, her use of suspense adds bite to the genre, and damn if Oliva doesn’t write some of the hottest sex scenes I’ve ever read. Trust me when I say, every woman should get pushed into the back of a GTO with a man like Marcus.

Hot.

And intertwined in all that wicked sexiness is some serious magic – Oliva has quite a way with words and I found myself highlighting passages throughout her story. Little pieces of perfection I wanted to hold onto for a bit longer.

It wasn’t like he had anything to offer in return. Just the way he breathed for her, bled for her. Existed for when she smiled at him, talked to him, for the way she said his name.

He could break her over and over and over. It wouldn’t matter. Just as long as he stuck around to piece her back together again.

So if you’re looking for a hot read to get lost in as the temperatures drop outside, grab a copy of Oliva’s WHAT THE BODY NEEDS and discover what I did: in the right hands, romance can be just as magical as the best fantasy.

Holla.

5 thoughts on “Book Review: What The Body Needs by Laura Oliva

  1. “He could break her over and over and over. It wouldn’t matter. Just as long as he stuck around to piece her back together again.”

    Like you, Madhuri, I prefer fae and fantasy, but I love that excerpt. I’m definitely gonna have to check WHAT A BODY NEEDS out.

    • Despite the fact that your little gem of a book destroyed my writing goals for the weekend, I still love ya. Wow, girl, you are good. I’ve read some hot stuff and you are right up there with the Lauren Blakely’s of the world. Every woman needs some Marcus in her life. Bravo.

Leave a Reply

