A Little Artwork

Last week my friend Hana put her mad skills to work and created a pretty fierce rendition of Dev, one that I said I would wait to share with folks, but got so excited, I wound up posting to The Sanctum’s Facebook page all of ten seconds later.

Patience has never been a virtue.

But Hana’s Dev is gorgeous, so I can’t really be faulted for getting a little excited.

orange crop

Yesterday she sent me Wyatt and although I love him dearly – he’s one of my favorite characters, if not my favorite, despite the fact that quite often Darby gives him a serious run for his money – I didn’t feel the insatiable need to share him with everyone right away.

Not because I don’t think her drawing is amazing, because I do.

I love it.

It’s more so because yesterday was one of those days when I received some serious criticism of THE GIRL, and especially Wyatt, so I had to sit and process it for a second. A friend told me not to take it to heart, to remember the old adage that you can’t please all of the people all of the time, but still. You can’t help but overanalyze those types of reviews, especially the very detailed, very precise crits. They creep into your psyche and fuck with you. They make you question your skill and capability, your characters and storyline.

And then you add another layer of skin to your already well-developed thick skin and you keep on keeping on.

That was me yesterday.

Today I’m ready to be back at it.

So here’s Wyatt – not bad, huh?

WYATT CROP

Holla, bitches.

6 thoughts on “A Little Artwork

    • Thanks, Rose. I appreciate it. And even though I had a day of questioning myself and my abilities, that’s all it was – one day. Now I’m back and running full speed ahead with Book III,

  1. Thanks, Elle, although the credit for the illustrations goes 100% to Hana Kura. Glad you stopped by for a visit and are enjoying yourself. Hope to “see” you in these parts more often. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

