Character Interview: Darby Winthrop

Last week I sat down with the blog Straight from the Library for a character interview with Darby Winthrop, The Sanctum Trilogy’s Dark Queen of New York, the one and only Southern Belle from Hell.

Check it out.

Character interview – DARBY WINTHROP

 Full name: Eudora “Darby” Cordelia Winthrop

Age: too old for you to be asking

Occupation: Queen of New York

What do you consider your greatest achievement? Not killing y’all. I’m already fed up with this malarkey.

What is your idea of perfect happiness? If I’m gonna be crass, an unlimited supply of fresh blood from a harem of hot, sex-starved 25 year-olds. If I’m being honest, Jedda. He’s my happy place.

What is your current state of mind? Conflicted. And don’t ask about what cuz I’m not discussion’ it.

What is your favorite occupation? Sweetheart, do I look like I have a job? I’m the freaking Dark Queen of New York. That’s job enough for this chick.

What is your most treasured possession? My family’s furniture. I’ve had it for hundreds of years. It’s impractical and does not match the decor of my townhouse one bit, but it reminds me of them and that’s all this girl really needs sometime. A reminder of my roots, my people.

What or who is the greatest love of your life? Jesus, are we back on this crap?

What is your favorite journey? Those few steps I took that first time I woke up and realized I could once again walk in the sun. There was nothing quite like it and honestly, I don’t think anything will ever top it.

What is your most marked characteristic? (Silence. Hint of a dirty look and then she flashed her fangs.)

When and where were you the happiest? Good lord, I have no idea. Didn’t y’all do any research before comin’ over here? I am old as hell. I don’t know my happiest moment anymore. Maybe that’s the ironic blessing in all of this mess. You live so long, you can’t remember much of anything, be it the good or the bad.

What is it that you most dislike? Luc Arsenault. Don’t ask. Just write that down. I hate that piece of work.

What is your greatest fear? Those clowns running The Sanctum

What is your greatest extravagance? Love

Which living person do you most despise? Maxwell Breslin, which ain’t answering your question properly since last time I checked, that nasty, little thing is dead as a doornail, but use it anyway.

What is your greatest regret? Not spending more time with Jedda. The petty fights that would last years, that kinda stuff. Looking back, it all seems so silly. Life is too short, even when you’re immortal.

Who is your favorite author? I love me some Mark Twain. Perhaps it’s the Southern in me. Or maybe it’s the I-don’t-give-a-rat’s-ass in me. Either way, I love him. That Brit, Jane Austen, is a close second.

What is your favorite book? Pride and Prejudice.

Who is your favorite hero of fiction? Hermione Granger. She’s a bit of a badass.

Who are your heroes in real life? Ryker Morrison and Wyatt Clayworth; once upon a time, they were two Sanctum angels of death

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery? Being all alone. Forever.

What is the quality you most like in a man? Honesty

What is the quality you most like in a woman? A sense of humor

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself? Being such a jealous bitch

What is the trait you most deplore in others? Duplicity

What do you most value in your friends? Their laughter

Which living person do you most admire? Ryker Morrison

What do you consider the most overrated virtue? Honesty

On what occasions do you lie? Whenever it serves my purposes. I’m a jealous bitch, but I’m also a crafty bitch. And a resourceful one.

How would you like to die? Good lord, you’re thick. I am dead, sweetheart. Been that way for hundreds of years.

If you were to die and come back as a person or thing, what do you think it would be? [Silence.]

What is your motto? Let ‘em bleed

 

2 thoughts on “Character Interview: Darby Winthrop

Leave a Reply

