Divine Inspiration

I’ve loved this statue since Christa first posted it on her blog. It’s so very sexy. Everything about the woman depicted is sensual. He’s a bit scary, but I always find him to be somewhat of an afterthought as my eyes are always drawn to her.

The story of the statue is that desires should not be repressed, but rather woven into our lives as a means of transcending them.

What do you think? Repress or embrace our desires?

Christa Wojciechowski

Statue in Malecon What do you think is the story behind this piece?

I was delighted to find this provocative statue lurking in the trees in the Malecon, Guayaquil, Ecuador. I think it’s a sign from The Muses that it’s time to work on The Sculptor of New Hope. I can’t wait to get home and write the last book of the series!

 

P.S. Ecuador was amazing. I could write three articles about the cuisine alone! Stay tuned for a foodie post.

View original post

One thought on “Divine Inspiration

  1. Thanks so much for reblogging this, Madhuri.

    I wanted to add the same note I did on my blog. This woman is really sexy, and it’s no wonder. The statue was modelled after Spanish dancer, Carmen Tórtola Valencia, who was the muse of many poets and artists of the time.

    The more I find out about this mysterious statue tucked in an Ecuadorian park, the more I’m fascinated by it. I’m glad everyone likes it as much as I do. I think it deserves more recognition.

    And I think you’re right, Madhuri. As sinister as the faun looks, he is an afterthought. I think maybe the artist, Luis Veloz, wanted it that way because he didn’t sculpt the faun’s entire body. He is more like a showcase to display the voluptuous, swooning woman.

    I also agree with you about embracing our vices. We are only avoiding the roots of our problems when we suppress our urges. The only way we can hope to learn about ourselves is by bringing them into the light to analyze them.

    Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

