Book Review: The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

I bought John Green’s The Fault In Our Stars back in 2012, but at the time was caught up in all things George RR Martin and the world of Game of Thrones, so TFIOS remained untouched on my bookshelf.

Until this morning.

I don’t know what made me grab it and finally start reading it – I have a feeling it had a little to do with Shailene, who plays Hazel in the movie version of TFIOS, and how charming I find her – but whatever the reason, I opened it this morning, entered the world of Augustus and Hazel’s epic, so very tragic love, and finished it this evening.

tfios2

And that was all because of Hazel. I love her. Like really love. Like I needed to know her story and how it ended right then and there. So I read and I cried (but early in the book, not at the end) and I read some more and got my fill of Hazel.

And she rocks. Hard.

Not in an aggressive, in-your-face kind of way, but in a very wise, unsuspecting, confident manner. She sneaks up on you and steals your heart before you knew it was even hers to take.

There is a moment in the book when Augustus’ father tells her that he “thanks god for her everyday” and that’s pretty much how I feel about her – she’s fabulous and I’m so pleased to have made her acquaintance.

Check my review on Goodreads – I’m not kidding, I really love Hazel:

Read this book for no other reason than Hazel. Her voice is so witty and smart, poignant and true. Everyone loves Augustus, and what’s not to love, but my unwavering affection lies with Hazel. She drew me into this book and kept me turning the pages, even when I felt the strength of the storyline faltered. Her voice will stay in my head long after I have closed the cover and replaced it on my shelves and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

 

So if you’re a fan of YA (which, according to Slate, if you’re an adult and read YA, you’ve got some fucking issues) (to which I give Slate my lovely middle finger), then pick up this little gem and lose yourself for an afternoon.

It’s totally worth it.

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

  1. Thanks for giving Slate the middle finger. I too read the occasional YA novels. I love John Green’s voice. I preferred Looking to Alaska that TFIOS. You should get your hands on that one too in you haven’t already. Cheers!

    • Screw Slate and all its “Adult Novel” pretentiousness. haha. I, too, enjoyed Green’s voice although there were a few weak plot points that reminded me I was reading a YA novel. But definitely enjoyed it enough to check out Looking to Alaska. You aren’t the first to mention it’s the better of the two.

      • Yep. It does have a few week plot points. Also, the dialogue [between Gus and Hazel] was intelligent and clever [I love the Green’s wit], but often TOO perfect and in sync to make the characters’ exchanges truly realistic. Still, a great coming of age story.

      • Totally agree. I found that especially true for Gus. Gus is every girl’s or guy’s ideal…except of course for one, very big factor. But you catch my drift. Everyone wants a great love like Gus, just not certain he actually exists as as individual, but is rather a compilation of several people.

Leave a Reply

