Book Review: Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor

If you’ve read anything about me, literally anything, even two sentences, then you probably know I love Laini Taylor. Like fan-girl kind of love. She’s a bit of an obsession for me, albeit a healthy one, not like when I was sucking down a pack of American Spirits everyday, but more like my need to hit the gym at least three times a week.

(Oh my god! As I’m writing this, Ms. Taylor just favorited another one of my tweets. Good lord, I’m going to vomit.)

G&M cover

She just released the finale to her Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy, called Dreams of Gods & Monsters, which of course, I pre-ordered, but then surprisingly, did not allow myself to read until I completed a full draft of THE BOY. It was my post-draft treat so as soon as I was able, I jumped right into G&M. And as much as I hate to write this because I so love Laini Taylor, the first few chapters left me feeling a little meh.

Maybe it was my mood after just putting the finishing touches on THE BOY and being on such a high that really nothing was going to compare, or maybe I was just in a meh mood because every time I finish an installment of The Sanctum trilogy, I’m that much closer to saying goodbye to Wyatt and Dev, which totally bums me out.

Anyway, I texted Corey (of course I texted Corey! duh.) and hinted at my blahs, she understood but thought I would like where the trilogy ends.

Girl, was that the understatement of the year, or what?

LOVE. LOVE. LOVE.

I loved it.

Here is what I wrote as soon as I closed the book:

I just finished Gods & Monsters and really have no words for the brilliance that is Ms. Laini Taylor. I don’t want to give away one iota of this book so I’m just going to say this: Ziri, Liraz, Akiva, Karou.

I shed tears.

Literally.

My heart is going to explode.

 

I wanted more from it, of course I did, because I always want more of my favorite things. But really, Taylor did a fabulous job, ending on such a pitch-perfect note. Her writing is flawless and gorgeous and makes you feel so deeply. Her characters are complex and unique and you find yourself loving people you did not expect to love at all. Simply put, Taylor is fantastic. If I have any critique of the novel, it would be the introduction of the character Eliza and her storyline, which did not particularly hold my attention, but opens up possible writing for the future, so I’m not going to hate.

All in all, it was the most perfect, post-draft reading treat I could give myself and as sad as I am to close the book on Karou and Akiva, I am just so very pleased to have been immersed in their world at all, so thank you Ms. Taylor for your beautiful gift.

Now go snag the trilogy and fall in love with Ms. Taylor yourself. She’s totally worth it.

 

Leave a Reply

