The Boy – One Final Tease

In honor of “Teaser Tuesday” and the upcoming publication of Book II: THE BOY (yea!), here’s one final tease of what’s to come:

Dev had heard the legend since she was little, sitting at her dad’s feet, listening to Philip’s stories of great Sanctum warriors and Ramyan fighters, wise Magjisters and fearsome demons. But her favorite tale was that of the boy and his dog. It was simple and comforting and the story she always told herself when she woke in the middle of the night and could not fall back to sleep.

The boy walked the land of the dead, picking through and gathering the remains of his soul, determined to once again see the light of the living. Along the way, the grey dog appeared at his side, his loyal companion and fierce protector, his guide through the pits of darkness and depths of hell. Finally the boy and the dog completed their journey, having collected every tiny piece of the boy’s soul that had been tossed in the wind and came to the crossroads, where those who guard the way questioned him and demanded his dog in return for his passage.

The boy refused, bound to the grey dog, their souls intertwined and united for eternity. Those who guard the way became angry with the boy and threatened to deny him passage and still the boy would not part with the dog. Determined to bend him to their will, those who guard the way rose up and turned into wicked demons, screeching loudly, demanding their payment or his life, scaring the boy but not shaking his will.

He, too, rose up and met their evil stares and shouted with a booming voice for all to hear that he would not part with his dog, not on this journey or any other. Those who guard the way loomed larger, their anger reaching epic proportions and they grabbed the boy, stretching his limbs until he felt they would pop, intending to shatter his soul once and for all. And just as the boy knew he could hold on no longer and would shatter into nothingness, the dog rose and revealed its true self, its godliness and loomed over those who guard the way, shaming them for their bad acts and damning them to an eternity of begging forgiveness from all who came to their crossroads. He punished them for allowing their power to corrupt and blind them to the beauty in others, as he had easily seen such in the boy.

And then he disappeared.

And those who guard the way gave the boy passage, fearful of disobeying the god.

And the boy crossed into the land of the living, but felt so very alone without his canine companion. And he sighed and quietly shed a tear as he lay down to sleep, exhausted from his journey. And when he awoke that morning, a large, grey dog lay by his side, guarding him, protecting him, loving him and the boy never again felt alone.

Thinking of the legend reminded Dev of her father and for the first time since his passing, his memory brought a smile to her lips.

 

The_boy_final

That’s it. No more. You’ll have to get the book to read the rest. And there’s probably going to be radio silence on this end as I scramble to meet my self-imposed publication deadline of May 15th.

Fingers crossed, bitches.

HOLLA.

3 thoughts on “The Boy – One Final Tease

  1. I love this fable. Is it based on a real myth?

    As a dog lover who just lost a special dog, I found this very touching. I miss my dog protector. I like to think he is still by my side in one form or another.

    Thanks for the tease!

  2. I love it, too, but no, it’s not based on a real myth. The boy and the warrior is all my imagination, stemming from a joke I had with a close childhood friend. I used to always say dogs are the closest thing we have to god, you just need to look into their eyes to believe it and plus, dog backwards is god. What more proof did one need?

    Anyway, when I created the fable for Book II, I wasn’t thinking of my inside joke with my friend, but ever since writing it, when I look back on it, I instantly think of her every time.

    I’m glad you like it.

    • Haha! Yes, I never thought of ‘dog’ backwards.

      Well, I love that you included this fable in your story. I’m reading The Hero With A Thousand Faces by Joseph Campbell (actually, I’ve been slowly working my way through for almost a year) and have been studying fables from every epoch and culture. Myths are powerful vehicles that speak to our subconscious. I thinks you’ve created an excellent tool to deepen your story. Can’t wait to read the whole thing!

Leave a Reply

