It’s All About Your Friends, aka Bad Bitches

I spent this evening at my friend Michele’s house, interrupting her dinner I’m sure (although she denied it when I asked), getting help setting up my blog and Facebook page. She put together some graphics for me and set up my pages, promising to dive into both even deeper when she had a chance. All like it was no big deal.

Michele is also reading my complete manuscript, as are a group of seven other friends. Early on in this process I handed off my first twenty or so pages to Alessandra, an editor at The Daily Beast, knowing this was not her genre, but valuing her opinion. My sister-in-law, Arsha, has cheered me on from day one, giving me valuable suggestions and ideas, all of which I’ve used. My girlfriend, Stacy, has offered her personal insight into the world of publishing, based on her experiences trying to push book ideas on reluctant publishers.

My friend and colleague, Corey, is slammed at work but read my manuscript, took ample, thought-provoking notes and then spent over an hour discussing them with me. Emily, my partner in crime, is totally out of her element when entering my world of The Sanctum, but has read everything I’ve sent her way. Priya is my harsh critic, always keeping me on my toes, and I love her for it. One of my oldest and dearest friends, Stephanie, has been reading my stuff for years. Years! Girlfriend is a trooper.

This is all my way of saying that this little adventure I am about to undertake would not be possible without my crew of freaking awesome girlfriends. I love you guys! Rock on, bad bitches.

“Believe in your flyness…conquer your shyness!” — Kanye West (for no reason other than this is my blog and I can quote Kanye whenever I want)

Leave a Reply

